Drawing is a complicated process for me. When I draw, I don’t just simply draw. I study what I draw.

When I draw full bodies of people, I study the anatomical structure of the human body, to make the drawing look right. When I draw clothes on people, I study the different fabric types; how creases would look like, how folds would look different on different kinds, how gravity and wind affects how clothes would flow. When I draw animals, I would also study their figures, their skin type; if they’re scaly, slippery or furry.

See? Although this doesn’t apply to all artists and frustrated artists, It applies to me and undoubtedly to some other artists out there.

Drawing is not just drawing. It’s like drawing a totally new world on a blank piece of canvas. It’s something we put our hearts into. I don’t want to be forced to draw, that makes my drawings crappy. However, when inspiration strikes, then I often draw what I want to draw until it’s done without taking breaks. Drawing is a passion, something we do with our hearts.

So whenever someone shares their drawings to you, don’t make fun of them, or their drawings, because they are sharing a piece of their self to you, learn to appreciate it.

Rant and digital drawing by: Rhea Mae Alao

Leave a Reply

